SuperSport United thrashed Chippa United 3-0 in an Absa Premiership match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Friday night.

The result left Matsatsantsa and the Chilli Boys placed third, and 10th respectively on the league standings.

Matsatsantsa started the match brightly with Moses Waiswa keen to impress on his debut for the three-time PSL champions.

The Ugandan attacker called Veli Mothwa into action with a curling free-kick and the Chippa goalkeeper produced a decent save.

SuperSport did most of the attacking with Chippa happy to sit back and launch quick attacks.

The hosts upped the tempo after the half-hour mark and they were awarded a penalty following a handball incident in the Chilli Boys box.

Bradley Grobler then beat Mothwa from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to SuperSport in the 38th minute – netting his ninth league of the season in the process.

The score was 1-0 to SuperSport during the halftime break.

The Chilli Boys were the better side after the restart and they came close to scoring after the Matsatsantsa defence was exposed.

However, Ronwen Williams was alert and the SuperSport keeper produced a fantastic save to deny Nigerian striker Augustine Chidi Kwem in the 52nd minute.

Kaitano Tembo’s men regained control of the match as it progressed and they managed to double their through their hitman Grobler.

The former Ajax Cape Town marksman beat Mothwa with a fine finish to make it 2-0 to SuperSport four minutes after the hour-mark.

The visitors were struggling to contain SuperSport, who extended their lead in the 74th minute through Luke Fleurs’ header with 16 minutes left.

Chippa were awarded a late penalty following a handball incident, but Boikanyo Komane was denied by Williams from the spot-kick to ensure that SuperSport’s defeated Chippa 30 on the night.

SuperSport (1) 3 (Grobler 38′, 64′ Fleurs 74′)

Chippa (0) 0

SuperSport: Williams, Bhasera, Daniels, Fleurs, Kekana, Mokoena, Mbule (Mayo 86′), Waiswa (Donn 66′), Lungu, Gabuza, Grobler.

Chippa: Mothwa, Damons, Moyo, Malepe, Mthethwa, Maphangule (Komane 69′), Mahola (Lentjies 78′), Maziya, Rakhale, Twala (Sekotlong 78′), Kwem.